Information Sessions And Suggested Reading List About Current United Methodist Issues

Suggested Reading List

Below is a starting point for those interested in searching for information about the United Methodist Church, the separation of the denomination, and issues surrounding LGBTQI+. It is by no means an exhaustive list.

Selected Bibliography:

Abraham, William J. Dialogues Amongst The People Called United Methodists. Highland Loch Press, Dallas, Texas, 2014.

Abraham, William J. Waking From Doctrinal Amnesia: The Healing of Doctrine in The United Methodist Church. Abingdon Press, Nashville: 1995.

Collins, Kenneth J., and Ryan N. Danker, eds. The Next Methodism: Theological, Social, and Missional Foundations for Global Methodism. Seedbed Publishing, Franklin, TN. 2022

Hamilton, Adam. Making Sense of the Bible: Rediscovering the Power of Scripture Today. HarperOne: 2014.

Heidinger, James, II. The Rise of Theological Liberalism and the Decline of American Methodism. Seedbed Publishing, Franklin, TN, 2017.

Jones, Scott J. United Methodist Doctrine: The Extreme Center.  Abingdon Press, Nashville, TN, 2002.

Jones, Scott J. and Bruce R. Ough, eds. The Future of the United Methodist Church: 7 Vision Pathways. Abingdon Press, Nashville, 2010.

Wesleyan Covenant Association. A Firm Foundation: Hope and Vision for a New Methodist Future. Seedbed Publishing, Franklin, TN: 2017.

Denominational Resources:

United Methodist Book of Discipline, 2016. United Methodist Publishing House, Nashville, TN: 2016.

Addendum to THE BOOK OF DISCPLINE 2016 https://www.umofficialresources.com/updates/15/book-of-discipline-addendum-and-errata-december-2019

Video Presentations:

“In Accordance with the Scriptures: the Bible and the Creeds.” Address delivered to the Wesleyan Covenant Association Gathering in Tulsa Oklahoma, 2019. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YVSfCjyT_84

“Methodism’s Division: Six-Part Video Series by Rev. Rob Renfroe” https://goodnewsmag.org/methodisms-great-divides-video-series/

Leading Voices:

Wesleyan Covenant Association – midwife of the Global Methodist Church https://wesleyancovenant.org/

Global Methodist Church – Launched May 1, 2022 https://globalmethodist.org/

UMC Next – https://umcnext.com/

Liberation Methodist Connection – https://www.thelmx.org/

United Methodist Insight – https://um-insight.net/

The Confessing Movement within the United Methodist Church – https://www.confessingumc.org/

People Need Jesus – https://peopleneedjesus.net/

Good News Movement – www.goodnewsmag.org

Hacking Christianity – https://hackingchristianity.net/

Grace Through Separation – https://gracethroughseparation.com/

Articles about UMC:

“Over 60 Methodist Leaders Sign Statement on Wesleyan Tradition,” The Christian Post, June 2, 2022. https://www.christianpost.com/news/over-60-methodist-leaders-sign-statement-on-wesleyan-tradition.html

“United Methodists At the End of the Mainline,” William J. Abraham, First Things, June 1998. https://www.firstthings.com/article/1998/06/002-united-methodists-at-the-end-of-the-mainline

“Texas Court Strikes Down the Methodist Trust Clause,” Daniel P. Dalton, April 11, 2021. https://www.daltontomich.com/trust-clause/texas-court-concludes-that-the-methodist-trust-clause-is-unenforceable/

“The Fifty-Year Fight over Scripture & Sexuality in the #UMC (April 1972 – April 2022),” Chris Ritter, April 6, 2022. https://peopleneedjesus.net/2022/04/06/the-fifty-year-fight-over-scripture-sexuality-in-the-umc-april-1972-april-2022/

“Is the United Methodist Church Really…?” https://www.umc.org/en/content/ask-the-umc-is-the-umc-really-part-1?mkt_tok=MDc4LUpYUS02NDMAAAGGKL9Vx4zjL6RvTfW-0YzfwcLu4hrMVXk-_CchqMoukRjoDKSWgCZuzD2Z9PJPx0D6dyXNlJ0cBOatE6tcjwMYGfAjwehxHmvCpY3H5sQPPi4hgA

“Is the UMC Really…” Part 2 https://www.umc.org/en/content/ask-the-umc-is-the-umc-really-part-2

“Misinformation Abounds” https://goodnewsmag.org/misinformation-abounds/

“More On Misinformation” https://goodnewsmag.org/more-on-misinformation/

“Iowa Conference: Leading Now and Into the Future – Our Vision” https://www.iaumc.org/newsdetail/15777927

“Safe Harbor Declaration – Western Jurisdiction” https://westernjurisdictionumc.org/safe-harbor-declaration/

First drag queen certified as a candidate for United Methodist ministry ‘speaking in a new way to new people’ (religionnews.com) https://religionnews.com/2021/04/15/first-drag-queen-certified-as-a-candidate-for-united-methodist-ministry-speaking-in-a-new-way-to-new-people/

‘God is Queer,’ Duke Divinity Students Proclaim – Juicy Ecumenism https://juicyecumenism.com/2022/04/05/queer-god-duke-divinity/

Bishop Michael McKee, North Texas Annual Conference, On Misinformation In The Church (ntcumc.org) https://ntcumc.org/news/bishop-mckee-on-misinformation-in-the-church

“Methodist Separation In Mainline Context” Blog by Rev. Dr. Chris Ritter. https://peopleneedjesus.net/2022/08/16/methodist-separation-in-mainline-context/

UM Fallout – A Compendium https://peopleneedjesus.net/2022/08/18/um-fallout-a-compendium/

UM Fallout – A Compendium May – July 2022. https://peopleneedjesus.net/2022/08/20/um-fallout-may-1-august-20-2023-archive/

%d bloggers like this: